Stringlines – a contemporary Australian drama

Stringlines (a contemporary Australian drama) was written by Edwin Coad, Directed by Max Adam and made its world premiere performance in July 2007 in Foster, Victoria Australia. It was proudly presented by F.A.M.D.A. (Foster Amateur Music and Drama Association).

Not only was it a world premier but it was also my acting début. I played Kaye, who was the lead and only female in the cast. This role required me to swear, disrobe, line-dance and play guitar and sing not only once, but twice including the final number. I had never picked up a guitar until 3 months prior to performing, nor have I had any formal singing training.

The shows were performed for 6 nights and one matinée. I was delighted to have been nominated along with two others for most outstanding lead actor – female.

So, this very first acting experience happened when I was 46. The director showed great faith in me by choosing an unknown and inexperienced person for this role yet it was one I enjoyed immensely. I grew very fond of the other cast members and when the set was being pulled down the day after the final performance, I shed some tears.

Some of the GAT judges remarks were:

“A wonderful portrayal of naturalism in a delightfully spontaneous performance, displaying rich variation in emotional suggestiveness with soul-searching honesty and complete lack of affectation.” – Wayne Brown

“A fine theatrical debut. Elizabeth was obviously comfortable in this role and impressed with her ability to maintain focus. Her reactions in particular, were natural and not contrived. Nice singing and guitar work.” – Raymond Dunstan (GAT Judge Independent)

“Elizabeth looked the part and her initial entrance where she was lying on the sunbed was strong and really set up her character. She had a nice speaking voice and reacted well to what was going on around her …. I thought she was a real strong point in this production and I enjoyed her performance. Congratulations on the guitar playing and vocals too.” – Christine Skicko

Contact the director to find out more:

Max Adam
President Foster Amateur Music And Drama Association
Phone: (03) 5682 1600

JudgesCertificate

